top of page

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch


So I know I said I didn't have my copy to use for a review, but I FOUND MY NOTES ON IT so here it is!!!!

Goodreads book synopsis: "A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own."

Likes: From beginning to end this book had me on the edge of my seat. With brilliant concepts like people who embody the magic of different seasons, and plot twists which seem obvious but are actually exceptionally complex this is a book you wont want to put down! I literally refused to eat breakfast one morning until I had read the last 150 pages just because I couldn't wait to see how it ended. Both Meria and Mather are well written characters, and the Prince is so likeable you just can't hate him even when you feel like you really should hate him. I was recommended this book by a co-worker who described it as being "Like the last Air Bender but with seasons instead of elements" which really intrigued me and I am so glad I took their advice and bought the book because it truly was fantastic, I will even go so far as to say that it felt a lot like how I wished I had felt reading Throne Of Glass!

Dislikes: throughout the book I had an issue with the author's use of the names and descriptions of the different kingdoms. I felt as though she could have made it a lot clearer which kingdom was which in the beginning of the novel and then slightly less repetitive with them towards the end. This may just be a personal preference but I found the beginning a little unclear and the end a little tedious because of this reason!

All in all I thought it was a brilliant first novel and am really looking forwards to diving back in to this world with the second book Ice Like Fire!

Photo and Summary from goodreads.com

bottom of page