top of page

White Hot Kiss (by Jennifer L. Armentrout) Review and excuses


So first, excuses! I promise my Winter and Sword Of Summer reviews are coming soon but I got sidetracked by school then Christmas then I couldn't write my reviews because my friends have those books and I needed to find stuff in them.. anyways like I said, excuses! anyways those reviews are soon to come!!

Summary: "One kiss could be the last. Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she's anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses. Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she's crushed on since forever. Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she's not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn't an issue, considering Roth has no soul. But when Layla discovers she's the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne… it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world." - found on Goodreads

Likes: Do you ever pick up a book planning to just see how you like the story and not immidiatly read the rest of the series, only to find yourself at the bookstore the next day buying the rest of the series? because that is how I felt with this book! Much like the Lux series Armentrout has written another paranormal romance masterpiece. As always her love interest (or in this case interests) are beautifully written, and extrordinarily attractive in every way! to the point where I will be both perfectly happy and extremely upset no matter which guy she ends up with. Because of this I have found this to be one of the only love angles (no I didn't forget the tri on triangle) I actually really don't mind and am even a little happy to have in the story! Speaking of well written characters, I love Armentrout's main characters, both Katy (Lux Series) and Layla (White Hot Kiss) are awesom, my favourite thing about them is that they are both people I would legitimatly talk to in real life if they weren't fictional characters. Layla is quirky and imperfect, she loves Orange Juice almost as much as one of my best friends, and eats more cookie dough than I do (which is hard to accomplish), she makes Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Supernatural reffrences and the first thing she notices in a room is the bookshelves. I know this may not be appealing for everyone reading the book, but I have a feeling for most book lovers she would feel like the kind of person you would like to be best friends with! I have never been a fan of pure romance(no plot line other than the romance), however books with amazing plotline that have the same amount of romance as a book that is pure romance I have absolutly no issues with and actually quite enjoy which is why I consider Armentrout one of today's most awesome paranormal teen romance authors.

Dislikes: So I understand as part of this whole review thing I need to have some kind of balance and I generally give the books I review 4 or 5 stars but I am very picky when choosing books so I usually end up reading either something I love or something I like well enough to not have much to complain about. This series I am loving so I really don't have any dislikes at this point! Maybe once I've finished the series and had some space from it I find it easier to be critical but for now I'm just going to say that possibly a few of the romance scenes could be cut back a teeny tiny bit, not the scenes that are dedicated to romance but the scenes where Layla is having normal conversation with either of the love interests that instantly get turned sexual can sometimes feel either a little overbearing or cheesy. I was reading bits and pieces out loud with a friend making fun of the extreme sappyness some of conversations that could have easily been totally innocent.

Overview: So incase you can't tell, I am completely in love with this book and really this series. I will probably skip reviewing the second book because I feel as though my opinions of that one have blead in to my review of this book. You can definitley expect a review of book 3 (Every Last Breath) in the near future though, and once again I promise to try and keep my reviews more consistant. I have some time on my hands now so I can probably get some written fairly soon.

bottom of page