top of page

sisters of blood and spirit by Kady Cross

​​​

Every once in a while, when twins are born, one of them wont survive. Its sad and its crewl but sometimes it does happen! What doesnt ususally happen is the living twin being able comunicate with her dead sister. But that is exactly what happens to Wren and Lark. Lark is alive, except she's not entirly living, and there is something different about her, she can see the dead. Wren is dead except she's not entirely a ghost and there is something that seperates her from those of her kind, she can comunicate with the living world. No one knows why these sisters are the way they are, but when their friends manage to anger a vengful spirit it's up to Wren and Lark with their unique gifts to save them!

I found this to be an interesting book in a lot of ways. It was short and simple in a finish-it-in-a-matter-of-hours type of way, with such a good plot line that it really required no effort what-so-ever to read. My biggest issue with it is that I find it too short and I have to wait such a very long time (like 6 months, which I know isn't that long but it feels like it) for the sequel (sisters of salt and iron)

I'm starting to get in to somewhat creepier YA books and I find this one had that sort of mystic darkness to it that you would find in most horror movies, without actually being all that creepy. I didn't find it scary at all which could be considered either a positive or a negative depending on the reader, for those who constantly read horror you may be disapointed by the lightness of this book, but for those who ususally read lighter fantasey the darkness is almost refreshing! I personally find it to be right in the middle, on the very edge of light fantasey bordering on darker ghost stories.

The end of the book does an amazing job of wrapping up the plot while leaving enough questions that I definitley plan to read the sequel! I recomend this series to anyone just starting to read darker fantasey or anyone who wants a more lighthearted ghost story along with anyone looking to be throughly engaged and entertained for a few hours!

bottom of page