top of page

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

​​

I feel like i can't say much about this book without giving away way too much, yet I can't say enough about how much I liked it. It's intelligent and addictive with a plot twist you'll never see coming.

Cady is a menber of the beautiful Sinclair family. Everyone is perfect, or at least they all pretend to be. She spends every summer on her grandfather's private island with her 3 best friends getting in to so much trouble her family has labled them The Liars. Every summer is a haze of fun and troublemaking until one year when Cady wakes up naked and alone on the beach with no memory of the summer. A few years later her memories haven't returned and she finally goes back to the island to discover what happened to her.

I bought this book out of curiosity because I had heard the author had won tons of writing awards and had heard the name mentioned many times. It took me a little while to get in to due to the slow first few chapters, but once i did i could not put it down. I found myself reading in class, with an ending so powerful I had to excuse myself and go for a walk just to clear my head and refocus on the lesson. I find it to be an easy read, perfect for lazy summer days or when you need a quick break from an intense school week. and with an ending like this one you wont stop thinking about it for a long time.

as I said I can not say enough about this book and I would love to hear the opinions of those who have read it, so feel free to comment (but please tag your spoilers)

cover-image found on goodreads.com

bottom of page