top of page

The Hunger Games trilogy By Suzanne Collins

​​

By now I'm sure almost everyone has heard of The Hunger Games, the series about teenagers being forced to kill oneanother for sport, that inspired 4 movies and popularized the YA Dystopian genere everywhere, with pleanty of books being called "the next Hunger Games" and almost every strong female character being compared to Katniss.

Although I do believe for the most part that they are good books which bring to light many questions about the direction of society as a whole, and i read them border-line obsessivly when i first discovered them, I disagree with a lot of the hype surronding the series and I personally think their greastest accomplishment was the popularity they brought to

other series of the same genre.

Furthermore with the first 2 books being beautifly written I have always believed that a conclusion can make or break a series and for me Mockingjay ruined it. Mockingjay was poorly written and felt rushed, with Katniss's actions further proving my belief that Katniss has always just been in the right places at the right times for her selfish choices to serve the greater good.

Of course it couldnt be a true Hunger Games review without mention of the movies, which despite a shaky start and my hatred of any series since Harry Potter splitting their finale in to two movies, i really enjoy the

movies, especially the most recent one (MockingJay Part one) and I think they will only add value to the series overall.

Finally, i still reccomend reading The Hunger Games if only to form your own opinions about the series. A lot of people do love it or it wouldnt have become the sensation it is. However I also recomend that afterwards you try a series like Divergent (by Veronica Roth) or The Maze Runner (by James Dashner) to get a true taste of what the genre has to offer!

cover-image found on goodreads.com

bottom of page